Sidetrack, Backtrack…

Ok so this whole reading Rory’s book list so I can encourage myself to write more is obviously not working. 

Partially because, whilst awaiting The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn from the library, I read a couple of books that aren’t on the list. They were just interesting to me. 

The first, Watch How We Walk by Jennifer Lovegroveis a behind-the-scenes portrait of a Jehovah’s Witness family, that is upsetting from the beginning and doesn’t let up once. The writing was so natural and unique that I couldn’t put it down, even as the story battered me emotionally. 

Then I polished off Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, a hilarious blogger whose blog I have been following for some years now. Her blog posts make me laugh out loud, and her memoir did the same. I wish this person was my actual friend. 

And now I’m reading Bad Feminist by Roxanne Gay. I can’t say much about it, other than it’s a collection of essays about intersectionality, because I just started reading it yesterday. Or this morning. My days sort of flow into each other…

And still; Huckleberry Finn has not arrived. If it’s not here by the end of this book…I guess I should just jump to Atonement and then backtrack? 

Fascinating stuff. 

Leave a Reply

