I really am a Cliché

Well I entered my second poetry contest….the first one was entered minus my consent or knowledge by my fifth grade teacher. I won third place.

I did not win third place this time. I didn’t even make the short-listed poems.

So now I guess I am free to publish the poem on my blog. Which is great, because I have had all of these ideas for articles or posts or poems or what-have-you teasing me from my brain lately, and this saves me the trouble of solidifying them.

       CLICHÉ

 You are a cliché.

Overused and trivial.

The low-hanging fruit.

 

Follow the leader

A legend in your own mind.

Hang on every word.

 

Take the world by storm

Or keep up with the Joneses?

Happy as a clam?

 

Too rich for my blood,

The land of milk and honey.

It’s all smoke and mirrors.

 

Nothing up your sleeve.

Money makes the world go ‘round.

Get with the program.

 

Pissing in the wind.

The ends justify the means.

Wham, bam, thank-you ma’am.

 

You’re a Trojan horse.

I wasn’t born yesterday!

Hang me out to dry…

 

The third time’s a charm

Open up Pandora’s Box.

Baptism by fire

 

It’s now or never

Life’s a bitch and then you die.

The clock is ticking.

 

Nice guys finish last?

It’s sink or swim, fight or flight.

Ashes to ashes.

Leave a Reply

